Pete Stockmann Presented with IACC-Americas’ Highest Honour

2014 New Look IACC Member Portal on IACC Online


On 20 March, IACC-Americas presented the coveted Mel Hosansky Award for Distinguished Service to Pete Stockmann, President of 3P Business Solutions. TJ Fimmano, President of IACC-Americas (and General Manager, Dolce Hotels & Resorts at GE Crotonville), awarded IACC-Americas’ highest and most prestigious honour during the closing banquet of the chapter’s 33rd annual conference.

“I am honoured and thrilled to receive this award” said Stockmann, “especially knowing the list of past recipients who have made such an impact on our association and our industry. My experience – particularly 12 years on the education programmes – has been rewarding and exciting. I encourage each of you to get involved; this is a very exciting time to be active in IACC.”

Pete visited Europe for the European Conference on several occasions – participating in the European Conference, International trade shows – he also joined the European Study Tour– in fact, it is fair to say this individual has likely visited more IACC properties in the Americas and around the world than maybe anyone in the history of IACC.

He travels in the name of IACC also took him to Mexico, where he helped launch our first Central American member, ultimately creating the foundation for what today is the Americas Chapter as we know it.

Beyond all the travel and lofty titles, Pete’s passion for education drove him to be an active member in the SPIN and OPIN network for over a decade – ensuring IACC properties of all sizes would benefit from broad-based education to help grow our industry – and in the process build a stronger network of engaged members. This passion earned him IACC’s highest education award – the Pyramid Award.

Since 1985, IACC acknowledges one individual each year who has given tremendous service to IACC and the conference centre industry. Originally called the Distinguished Service Award, this honour was renamed in 1990 in memory of its first recipient, Mel Hosansky. Long-time editor of Meetings & Conventions Magazine and, later, Successful Meetings, Hosansky was an early supporter of IACC and its objectives.

Past Hosansky Award Winners

IACC would like to recognise the past recipients of the Mel Hosansky Award for Distinguished Service. They are, in order of receipt: 

Mel Hosansky
Dave Arnold
Charles Williams
Preben Nesager
Robert Hillier
Burt Cabañas
John Marenzana
Don Middleberg
Richard Kopacz
Marjorie Farley
Sam Haigh
Mary Gendron
Jorgen Roed
Anne-Marie Østergaard
Andy Dolce
Tom Silvestri
Roberta Butler
John Wilderman
Jerry Noack
John Potterton
Jack Kealey
Wende Blumberg
Bob Prewitt
Bob Johns
Ron Naples
Rodman Marymor
Peter Stewart
Joe Sebestyen
Joan Eisenstodt
Ellen Sinclair
Neil Pompan

Mark Cooper
Company: IACC
e-mail: mcooper@iacconline.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

You may also like…

Meeting Professional Resources